About Us

Greg is the president and co-founder of Lectrolyst, leading commercialization research of electrocatalytic systems. 

Prior to co-founding Lectrolyst, Greg was focused on designing and engineering nanostructured materials with tuned catalytic properties to address the need for both better energy conversion and storage. As part of his Ph.D. dissertation in Prof. Feng Jiao’s lab at the University of Delaware, he conducted projects on electrochemical hydrogen evolution, carbon dioxide electroreduction, explorations of reactivity on nanostructured alloys, electrocatalysts for lithium-oxygen batteries, and titania anodes for more traditional lithium-ion batteries. After his doctoral work, he performed more fundamental surface study with Prof. Eric Altman at Yale University, analyzing two-dimensional catalyst analogs and thin films.

Greg obtained his BS in Chemical Engineering from the University of Florida (2010), his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Delaware (2015), and completed postdoctoral training at Yale University (2018). He also completed a Postdoctoral Innovation Fellowship through Horn Entrepreneurship at the University of Delaware after returning to co-found Lectrolyst.

In addition to his primary role as the Robert Grasselli Development Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Delaware and Director of the Center of Catalytic Science and Technology, Feng is a co-founder of Lectrolyst, serving as its primary scientific advisor.

He is an expert in electrocatalysis with 100+ publications in the field and over 16,000 citations. He has received an NSF CAREER award for his work. In addition to research funding from federal agencies, Prof. Jiao has received substantial funding from industrial sources. Click here to learn more about academic research in the Jiao Lab.

Feng Jiao obtained his BS in chemistry at Fudan University (2001) and his Ph.D. degree in Chemistry at University of St Andrews (Scotland, 2008), before moving to Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory as a postdoctoral scholar. He joined the faculty at the University of Delaware in 2010.